Skip to content

Local Government Structure

Staffordshire has three tiers of local government. These are:

County Council

District or Borough Councils

Parish and Town Councils

County council

This is responsible for services across the whole of a county, including:

  • education
  • transport
  • planning
  • fire and public safety
  • social care
  • libraries
  • waste management
  • trading standards

District and borough councils

These cover smaller areas than the county council. They’re responsible for services such as:

  • rubbish collection
  • recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • housing
  • planning applications

Parish and town councils

These operate at a more local level than the county, district and borough councils

They’re elected and can help on a number of local issues, such as the provision of:

  • allotments
  • public clocks
  • bus shelters
  • community centres
  • play areas and play equipment
  • grants to help local organisations
  • consultation on neighbourhood planning

They also have the power to issue fixed penalty fines in respect of:

  • litter
  • graffiti
  • fly posting
  • dog offences